Is it all worth it in the end?

Everyday, as one gets ready for school or work, we are forced to take decisions. These decisions can be minor ones such as, “What shoes should I wear today?” However, with every action we take, there are “consequences” that come right after. This can be either good or bad. It all depends on how we interpret it. However, most of the time when we make these decisions, we don’t always get a clear answer of whether what we are doing is right or wrong. For instance, I’ve have worked in sales for the past two years. It’s my job and responsibility to make sure my company hits its quota everyday. Otherwise, it doesn’t make enough revenue to substance itself and won’t have any other choice than to let people go. Therefore, I will lose my job.

 

In Thinking Critically About Ethical Issues, chapter ten, it discusses how we are constantly deciding whether our outcomes from our actions are worth some of the necessary “evil” that we are causing. I was able to relate this to my job. As a sales person, it is my duty to persuade you to believe that the product my company is selling is essential and will offer many benefits. However, when I first started, it was difficult for me. In most cases, people didn’t have the money for the product. On the other hand, it was my duty to make them believe that they were making an investment for themselves. Reason being, it would offer them a convenience that would overweigh the cost. So, this brings me back to what I mentioned earlier: every action that we take has it’s own consequence. It all depends on how we interpret it. It can be considered good or bad. Therefore, it’s our duty to decide whether the actions we are taking overweigh the evil that we are causing. We have to ask ourselves, “is it all worth it in the end?”Image

4 thoughts on “Is it all worth it in the end?

  1. I stand by my stance in class that anything that has harm attached to it is inherently harmful itself. Almost every action has some negative aspect. I’m not advocating that we should not go through with most of these actions, because then nothing would get done. However, it is necessary to regard these actions as necessary instead of good or bad. If we recognize most of these actions as good, then we are failing to recognize the harms that come along with them. The chain of society is as strong as its weakest links. Ignoring the harms creates a weak chain. Do not regard actions simply as good, but instead regard them as necessary and discuss all relevant aspects.

  2. I also work in sales so your post is very relatable. When I first stated working with the company I often found it difficult to sell because I didn’t want to be the person that was persuading others to buy a product for my own personal benefit. Now that I have experience in sales, I have become more comfortable. Our company needs to meet a quota every day and if we fail to do that, we are not doing our job efficiently. I agree with Colin when he says that almost all actions have a negative aspect, but it’s up to us to decide whether or not the action is necessary regardless of it could be potentially harmful to a person.

  3. I am also in sales. I have learned that I am not the best sales person because I feel guilty when selling something to someone that I truly believe they do not need. I am one of the best sellers at my office for one of the products we sell because that is the only one I believe in. I don’t sell for my own personal benefit but I only think about people I am selling too. I think that sometimes these actions can become negative but we are the ones who dictate whether that happens. If we think it is the wrong decision for someone then we shouldn’t do it but if we feel like it is the correct one then we need to go ahead with the action.

  4. Anayeli, you and I have the same job, yet with different companies. Truthfully, I think of this almost every day.
    Ultimately, every company is out to make a profit. If not, they would go out of business. I am obviously also in sales; therefore I also have to achieve a certain quota with my company. My job involves selling credit cards as one of its main products. Despite my knowledge of almost every store trying to get customers to sign up for a credit card, I still feel guilty doing it. On my end, it’s easy to see which customers are broke compared to those who are comfortable with their money. Regardless, my goal is to get credit cards? So what do I do? I’ve thought of skipping those who don’t seem prepared to take on a credit card, however that would affect my performance dramatically.
    It is important to note that those customers with the lesser amount of money are usually the ones to accept a credit card offer than those well off.
    I still contemplate the issue and whether it really is ethical of me, knowing the financial situation of those customers in the end.

Leave a Reply

