Affirmative Action

I believe affirmative action was very necessary back in the 1950’s and 60’s when people were just beginning to accept women into the workforce and African Americans were beginning their fight for equality. Throughout those years people were too accustomed to seeing only white males holding well paying jobs so it was important that there was increased representation of women and minority group members. I think affirmative action was a positive change back then, but since, I feel like it can sometimes have a negative side as well.

 People sometimes seemed to be consumed by the idea that all companies have to include people of a bunch of different races and genders. During our discussion in class this evening, the following question was asked, “Should companies have a diverse quota they must meet in order to ensure that their company includes people of different races and genders?” I feel that having to meet a quota is taking things to the extreme. Companies shouldn’t be forced to have a certain percentage of white people, or a certain percentage of black people. Having this quota could negatively effect the employees want to work. They may just see themselves as “filling a spot” in order for the company to meet their quota, and they may develop a “the company needs me attitude.” For example, if an Asian woman gets hired for a job at a clothing store and she is the only Asian woman employed there, she may start to slack on her work because she knows the company needs an Asian woman to meet their quota.

 I also think affirmative action has a negative effect because it takes into account the gender and ethnicity of a person rather than evaluating a person solely based on their work ethic and their ability to perform a certain job. When companies are hiring, I believe their decision should be based upon who is best suited for the job and who meets all of the qualifications. I do not think that gender or race should be taken into consideration.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Affirmative Action

  1. This explanation really helped me to understand affirmative action. Now that I get it, I believe and support this blog post. Affirmative action should not exist today because there shouldn’t be a need for it. I sort of feel like by trying not to be racist by making certain rules for example “hiring requirements” for a company, we end up being raciest.We end up doing the complete opposite. I think that any amount of blacks whites asians or any other race working for a company shouldn’t matter it really SHOULD depend on your work ethic not the color of your skin. People should just be hired because there people not to fill a quota. Its assumed when you apply for a job that everybody has an equal chance of getting a job and thats how it should be. If the black has more experience then the white or asian or vice versa then he should get the job because he is the type of individual the company is looking for. It should be that simple.

  2. This explanation really helped me to understand affirmative action. Now that I get it, I believe and support this blog post. Affirmative action should not exist today because there shouldn’t be a need for it. I sort of feel like by trying not to be racist by making certain rules for example “hiring requirements” for a company, we end up being raciest.We end up doing the complete opposite. I think that any amount of blacks whites asians or any other race working for a company shouldn’t matter it really SHOULD depend on your work ethic not the color of your skin. People should just be hired because there people not to fill a quota. Its assumed when you apply for a job that everybody has an equal chance of getting a job and thats how it should be. If the black has more experience then the white or asian or vice versa then he should get the job because he is the type of individual the company is looking for. It should be that simple.

  3. I wanted to disagree with your blog post in some manner, however, everything you stated is absolutely correct. I believe times have changed and no longer require affirmative action due to a diverse population and cultures in America. I remember a time when I felt a great majority of my co-workers were Caucasian, but now, I see a diverse workforce everywhere I shop or visit. If you ever have a chance, speak with someone about their ancestry and you’ll find out they are no longer white, they are ½ this and ½ of that. America is truly a melting pot and will forever continue to be just that.

Leave a Reply

